End of 2015 Update

Hi everyone! So I haven’t been around for a while (haha October…). Anyhow, I wanted to leave a short update about life things that might explain why I haven’t written a blog post for the past 2-3 months, and what I have been doing in the interim. The jist of it is that, while I do intend to keep blogging and continue writing posts, that hasn’t happened for a while for a few reasons, and blogging in the future will be similarly difficult for me to keep up with.

Probably the biggest reason that I haven’t been blogging often recently is that I moved in July, and that ended up causing a massive alteration in my schedule. Essentially, having to commute two more hours than before dramatically reduces the amount of time I have in the evenings to paint my nails, let alone do nail art. Most of the time in the past few months, I have just painted my nails a single color, if that; at some point, I went a whole week without nail polish on at all, which was pretty much unheard of in the past history of this blog.

Ultimately, I was left with just the weekends to try and do nail things, and a lot of my weekends ended up getting filled with other things. Between the multitude of holidays, events, family, friends, and (pitifully scarce) boyfriend time, I barely had a 2-5 hour block of time to myself. In the end, I did manage to get some swatches done, but – alas – no nail art. Perhaps, now that it isn’t “holiday season”, I’ll have more time to do nail art than before.

Also, I shifted my creative hobbies towards other things than nail art in the past few months. In August/September, I made myself a new Renaissance Faire costume, which took a good long while to make (eventually I’ll post a picture of it). Then, I learned how to use the laser cutter at work and figured out how to make fun DIY stuff with it, starting with this simple box:

20151006_220945-2

While the picture shows the box being held together by tape, I later glued it together.

moving on to my family’s Chanukah presents (fridge magnets):

20151203_225849-2

This Minecraft-inspired fridge magnet was made for my little brother (he appreciated the Courier New typeface, too). Not a very color-accurate photo, but you get the idea. Also I am wearing some polish here!

and finally some Christmas ornaments for my boyfriend’s family:

20151225_173112(0)-2

Each one of the snowflakes had a different design. The clear acrylic really made these so lovely and icy-looking.

Everything above was made out of 3 mm-thick pieces of cast acrylic in various colors and textures, in case anyone wanted to know.

In the future, I’m intending to invest more time in laser cutter projects because it is so fun to make custom gifts for people (and myself!). Even though I intended this blog to be exclusively about nails, I might throw in a couple pictures of laser cutter/other creative projects just for funsies.

Anyhow, I think that just about covers the reasons behind my absence from blogging for the past few months. I still have been painting my nails and taking pictures of them, with the intention of writing blog posts, but I haven’t gotten around to a lot of it due to the time suck that is commuting. Hopefully I can get back on my feet again with this blog thing and write more stuff in the next year (fingers crossed!). Ideally, I can mix the new content in with the older backlog content (aka have the new sub box posts come out, and throw in an older one as well until all the older ones get done). I haven’t completely thought this out, so we’ll see how it all works in the end.

I hope you’ve liked my update! Hopefully I’ll be back sooner rather than later next time; thanks for reading and Happy New Year!

– Emi

9 thoughts on “End of 2015 Update

  1. Rachel says:

    Very nice! 🙂

    If it’d make it any easier or faster (or just make you feel like you accomplished something), have you considered instagram for quicker posts of swatches or art, then waiting to do full reviews and how-tos here later on? I’d love to follow you there!

    Like

    • emismanis says:

      Thanks! I’ve been mulling over your comment for a while, since that is a good idea. I might try that, since getting posts out slows me down a lot, while Instagram is like a million times faster. It seems that, for me, the images take the longest for me to finish, so fewer of them would mean I could publish more. Yeah, I’ll probably do that…hopefully I’ll see you on Instagram! 🙂

      Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Just glad to hear you are ok! Keep up the projects and please post them, too! Those ornaments and that magnet are awesome! I’d love to see more!

    Like

Leave a comment