Emi’s Manis Turns One! Part Two

Hi everyone! I apologize for keeping you all waiting for longer than I expected, but I got kind of burned out for a few weeks and didn’t feel like I had enough energy for blogging. Now that I’m feeling better, I present to you: the second installment of my first blogiversary! In the first part, I talked about how much the past year has meant to me with this blog, and in this post, I want to do a couple of commemorative things to really celebrate the personal significance of this occasion.

20150528_215452(0)-2

And what better way to do that than with nail art? Since I figured this was supposed to be a post commemorating the first year that I’ve been blogging about my nails, I decided to do some nail art styled after the very first mani I blogged about. I didn’t want to do exactly the same thing, just mimic it. Plus, as a bonus, I’ve got a special something for my readers – a GIVEAWAY!!! My first one ever! I hope you like it 🙂

Over a  whole year ago, I did this manicure of these cute little butterflies in some warm-toned shimmery colors:

Warm butterflies

It’s definitely adorable, but ultimately not my best work and not one of my favorite manis in particular. All the same, it was the manicure that happened to start my blog. Well, I figured it would be nice to do a “Warm Butterflies 2.0” manicure to show off all the awesome progress I’ve made, while still revisiting the past. Just like in the earlier manicure, I combined the same four colors into a design with small, cute butterflies. But, since I wanted to do something different, I put only one butterfly on each nail and added a little trail of dots behind it; as a festive accent, I put the number “1” on my middle finger amidst the dots (can you spot it?)

20150528_215329-2

I started with a base of two coats of Julep Saaya: a light, warm orange with a gold shimmer. At three coats it still wasn’t completely opaque, but I was putting some other nail art on top of it so I didn’t care.

Julep Saaya Swatch 3

Beyond this point, I have a step-by-step pic of how I made the butterflies, which I’ll refer to for ease of understanding. To start making the butterflies, I put down a few blobs of Julep Laree (pink with gold shimmer) in the shape of the butterfly wings using a small brush (2). I then used Julep Paulette (purple with gold shimmer) to shade the wings in the center with some really short strokes (3), and blended in the two colors by adding more of Laree (4). I used Julep Blake (light yellow creme) and a tiny brush to make the butterfly bodies (5), and then made the trails using the purple polish and a dotting tool (6). To add a little something extra to the trails, I put a second pink dot on top of two of the purple dots (7). And done!

One Year Mani Composite

mdn0v

This is soooooo fun and cute! It’s probably one of my most adorable manis, with all the little dots and pink and purple butterflies flitting around. And, of course, it’s a fitting tribute to the start of my blog, I think.

One Year Mani Warm Butterflies 2 4

One Year Mani Warm Butterflies 2 8

Now on with the giveaway!

I figure that giveaways are the appropriate thing to show my appreciation for all of my wonderful readers, so I present the following prize pack:

Emi's Manis Giveaway June 2015

This could all be yours!!! All of these polishes are 100% brand new and unused, and were purchased by me. Included are:

  • SquareHue January 2015 Collection (reviewed here on my blog) – Gibson Girl, First Flight, and Victorian End
  • Julep Nadia, Glam Roc, and Alex
  • Gothic Gala Lacquers 5th of November
  • Cult Nails Center of Attention

As it turns out, it’s impossible for me to post the actual giveaway widget here because WordPress doesn’t allow me to embed it into the post. Instead you will just have to follow the link below in order to enter:

GIVEAWAY HERE!!!!!

All you have to do to enter the giveaway is leave your email, but to earn additional entries you can comment below and follow me on Instagram. Pretty simple! The giveaway starts on June 6th, 2015 at midnight Pacific Time, and ends on June 21, 2015 at midnight Pacific Time. So you have just over two weeks to enter! The winner, who will be randomly selected, will have 48 hours to respond to my email before I pick another winner. I’ll make this giveaway international so that anyone can enter.

I hope you’ve liked my post! Thank you to all the awesome readers who read my blog – I appreciate all of you so much! Hopefully this giveaway can serve as a small token of my gratitude for your support 🙂 Thanks for reading!

– Emi

10 thoughts on “Emi’s Manis Turns One! Part Two

Leave a Reply

