Julep Blues Mod Ombre

Hi everyone! First, I’m very sorry about my delays in posting; I didn’t mean to leave my blog without new posts for this long. Due to lots of stuff going on, it’s just been a little crazy these past two weeks. Thanks so much for being patient with me.

Julep Blues Mod OmbreToday I have some fun, geometric-ish ombre nail art using some blue polishes from Julep, which was prompted by the Instagram #JulepRainbow contest! The gist of the contest was that Julep picks a different color every day for 10 days, and other people tagged Instagram pics that were predominantly that color with #JulepRainbow for a chance to win some Julep goodies. Doing a special mani for one of the rainbow days sounded fun to me, so I came up with this mod design for the blue day! Just like the polishes that inspired it, this design is quite gorgeous.Julep Blues Mod Ombre 4

This geometric design has been ruminating in my head for a while in various color combinations, and now seemed a better time than any to try it. I suppose I’d call this a curvy chevron pattern, since, unlike a sweetheart or fishtail design, the lines in the design bend upwards rather than downwards. I did this design completely free-hand, but I suppose you could use a mermaid or fishtail manicure kind of technique to make it easier. Anyways, I started with a base of Julep Octavia, which is a dark purple-blue crรจme. Hereโ€™s a swatch:

Julep Octavia Swatch

Such a great color! It went on really nicely in two coats, though it was mostly opaque by one.

I made a little step-by-step of how I did the gradient, so Iโ€™ll describe each step of that here to make it easy to follow along (please forgive my dry cuticles!). After putting down a base of Julep Octavia (1), I put down a blob of Julep Dana near my cuticle and spread it out into a teardrop shape (2). Following the curve of the teardrop, I made several wavy lines going down my nail using Julep Shelly (3), Julep Kiki (4), and Julep Eliana (5). Finally, I made a tiny teardrop shape near my cuticle using Julep Annika (6) to finish the whole thing off.

Julep Blues Mod Ombre Graphic

Julep Blues Mod Ombre Gif

Despite this design being kind of laborious, I really love it! Ombre nails are always fun, but these are extra awesome with the geometric design going on here. It looks kind of retro/mod to me.

Julep Blues Mod Ombre 3

Julep Blues Mod Ombre 2
I hope you’ve liked my post! Again, I’m sorry for getting so behind on the blogging. I’ll try to keep up more in the future. Thanks for reading!

– Emi

8 thoughts on “Julep Blues Mod Ombre

      • Rachel says:

        Honestly I prefer the gifs for most things. Unless I’m really really interested, I’ll usually skip a video in favor of picture and written instructions that I can read at my own pace (usually faster).

        Like

      • emismanis says:

        Sure, I can keep making gifs then! Thanks for the feedback ๐Ÿ™‚ I figured that a video might show a technique better than pictures, but I can always do both pics/gifs and videos.

        Like

Leave a Reply

