Blue Glitter Gradient with Darling Diva Beautiful and Julep Eliana

Hi everyone! I’m still having some pretty terrible computer problems that have been draining away my patience for nail art, but I still wanted to post something so here goes! Today I have a simple gradient using a glitter polish named Beautiful by Darling Diva over a moody blue base (Julep Eliana). I chose the Darling Diva polish out of a selection on Llarowe because I liked the mix of turquoise, copper, and white glitter a lot (also it was on sale). Since my nail polish collection is not big on glitters, let alone indie glitters, I think it makes a good addition to my stash. Putting it over Julep Eliana – a medium-dark denim blue crème – suited it quite nicely; I find the result quite appealing.

Moody Blue Glitter Gradient Darling Diva Beautiful Julep ElianaHere is what Julep Eliana looked like as a swatch by itself. It’s a nice color alright, definitely the same color as denim, but I found the formula to be a bit odd. It was kind of jelly-ish on the first coat, and applied in a kind of watery manner. I got it to be opaque in two medium-thick coats, but it would have been better if it was slightly more pigmented.

20150123_005507-2

Julep Eliana Swatch 4

And here’s the glitter gradient on top of it! I applied the glitter using a Q-tip, starting from the cuticle and going until about 2/3 of the way towards my nail tips. When I got close to the end of the gradient, I was careful to sponge only small amounts of the shimmery base so that the glitter gradient blended well.

Moody Blue Glitter Gradient Darling Diva Beautiful Julep Eliana 2

Moody Blue Glitter Gradient Darling Diva Beautiful Julep Eliana 3

Darling Diva Beautiful is sooooo cool! It’s got some hex glitters in different colors and sizes – medium turquoise matte, small white matte and turquoise matte, and tiny copper and white matte – plus some tiny iridescent glitter pieces all in a blue shimmer base. The base of my polish is slightly blue-tinted, which I’m not sure is intentional. Regardless, it’s pretty. And it looks great over Julep Eliana! I love how the copper glitters just set the blue off so nicely, and how the shimmer pops out in certain lightings. This was definitely a good find!

Moody Blue Glitter Gradient Darling Diva Beautiful Julep Eliana 4

I hope you’ve liked my post! I’ve got something exciting planned coming up soon, so stay tuned! Thanks for reading

– Emi

3 thoughts on “Blue Glitter Gradient with Darling Diva Beautiful and Julep Eliana

Leave a Reply

