Julep Metamorphic Topcoat Combo – Tilda and Mae

Hi everyone! I’ve been having some technology issues recently that have been delaying me in posting, but, not to worry, I’ve still got stuff to write about! Today I have a quick post about one of the metamorphic topcoats that Julep released this month – Tilda (the green one) – and its polish soulmate Julep Mae. In the January Maven boxes, Julep added one of three free “metamorphic topcoats” that are supposed to transform whatever other color you put them over into something more fabulous. If you recall from my last post, the random metamorphic topcoat that came in my box was actually Tyra (the pink one), but I wasn’t all that jazzed about it. So, thanks to the magic of the internet, I was able to obtain a bottle of Tilda, which I find much more exciting! My experience with Tyra led me to believe that there was probably some magic combination out there that would be truly transforming, and I’m happy to report that I found it! Julep Mae and Tilda were meant to be together because, combined, they make this incredibly ethereal manicure. So perfect!

Julep Mae Tilda Metamorphic TopcoatThis is what Julep Mae looks like by itself: matte, almost neutral, and not that exciting. It’s nice, but not FABULOUS.

Julep Mae Swatch 2

Julep Mae Swatch 3
With Tilda, of course, it magically becomes this:

Julep Mae Tilda Metamorphic Topcoat Comparison
I put one coat of Tilda on my thumb, middle, and pinky fingers just to show you how it makes a difference to the base color. This is just one thin coat; the more you add, the more shimmery it gets!

Here’s what it looked like when I put Tilda on all my nails, and added topcoat to the thumb, middle, and pinky:

Julep Mae Tilda Metamorphic Topcoat Some with Topcoat

Like Tyra, this polish dried kind of matte-ish, but I don’t think it was as matte as Tyra was. There’s some difference in this photo, but not too much.

And the finished result!

Julep Mae Tilda Metamorphic Topcoat 3

Julep Mae Tilda Metamorphic Topcoat 4

I love it so much! It’s a very soft and delicate combination that makes me feel refreshed when I look at it. This is definitely the way to go with Tilda. I tried a couple of other combinations with Tilda to see what else it would go well with (try Julep Eden if you have it!), but this is by far the best one.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my post! Thanks for reading!

– Emi

Leave a Reply

