Swatch – Julep Kathy

Hi everyone! This is going to be my last vacation post! I’m excited to get some new content going, once I am reunited with my stash, and to move forward with my New Year’s Resolutions! But before I move on to new stuff, I have a swatch of the first polish I wore during my vacation: Julep Kathy. This is the only polish I have to show you from my vacation, since I had the opportunity to take photos of it before my vacation started. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get good photos of the other stuff I had on due to bad lighting and general holiday busyness.

Julep Kathy Swatch
Anyways, Julep Kathy is a lovely polish consisting of this magical iridescent golden fleck glitter that really “glows”. I’m glad I picked it to kick off my vacation, since its golden tone and luminescent quality do remind me of winter and holiday festivities. All the same, I think this polish would be fantastic year-round, and I’m glad I have it in my collection.
Julep Kathy Swatch 4

Julep Kathy is part of Julep’s birthstone collection for 2014, and is supposed to represent June’s birthstone of pearls. To me, this polish doesn’t look especially like pearls compared to others (like, say, Julep Melissa), but it’s probably my favorite polish from the entire birthstone collection because I love the finish of this one and I’m a sucker for gold. In direct lighting, the flecks look kind of pale whitish-gold with a golden flash, but in indirect lighting, the glow really comes out and the whole thing looks like super-reflective gold. It’s kind of hard to describe – you have to really see it to believe it. A polish with a similar finish is Finger Paints Peach Beach Scene, of which I have a swatch photo in my gallery; OPI Princesses Rule! may be another, though I don’t have it to confirm.

I got Julep Kathy to go on evenly with three coats, though it was mostly opaque by two. The consistency was a bit thick, but nothing terrible. Overall, this was a fantastic polish! I hope I can find a way to use it in nail art somehow, since I can’t wait to use it again!

Julep Kathy Swatch 2

Julep Kathy Swatch 3

I hope you’ve enjoyed my post! Thanks for sticking with me during my vacation, and, previously, during the awful time for me that was autumn. I wasn’t able to publish as many nail art posts as I would have liked; hopefully 2015 will be better, and more interesting for you readers! Thanks for reading!

– Emi

Leave a Reply

