Julep InstaGrim Part III: Chevron Candy Corn

Hi everyone! I’ve got the third installment of my Julep InstaGrim series, which completes my Halloween manicures! As I’ve described before, I created a series of Halloween nail art designs for Julep in order to help them promote their contest on Instagram, and am dedicating a blog post to each one; you can read more about it in my first post of the series. This latest one is about my version of candy corn nail art, which is to make a “Chevron Candy Corn” manicure. In total, the designs are:

  1. Haunted Hollow
  2. Ghastly Gradient
  3. Chevron Candy Corn

Julep Chevron Candy Corn Nail Art

The chevron candy corn design was inspired by some chevron decals that Julep sold in the October Maven window, which I picked up. When I was thinking of nail art to do for the InstaGrim contest, I thought of candy corn nail art because I love candy corn, but then I thought – nah, that’s been done to death. But then I thought: well, what about candy corn with a twist? And then these chevron decals came to mind, and I was sold on the idea! Chevrons are a great graphic pattern (quite suitable for bright colors) and they’re very of-the-moment. Plus decals/stencils are so easy to use to create clean lines. I didn’t end up using the Julep decals because I thought my friend Kimi might like them, so I came up with a DIY alternative for those of you who are not in possession of chevron decals. They work, but you can probably get better results with the professional ones. Read on to learn how to do them and see the tutorial!

Stencils, which have recently gained some recognition in nail art, are an easy way to make really clean patterns with high feature resolution. Nail art with stencils was one of the first forms of nail art I figured out how to do for this reason. The basic idea is that you wait for your base color to dry completely, stick on the stencil to mask a part of the design, paint over the remainder of your nail, and then remove the stencil. This technique yields really tidy lines, and is a lot easier than free-handing nail art. I actually developed my own technique for making nail art stencils, which I hope to have a tutorial on sometime in the future when I have video tutorial capabilities. Someday…

Julep Chevron Candy Corn Nail Art 2
Anyhow, I used the following Julep polishes for this manicure:

  • Julep Dana (black light reflective white with blue sheen) – could use a normal white polish
  • Julep Catrina (school bus yellow creme)
  • Julep Marjorie (bright, slightly shimmery orange)

I do have a mini-tutorial for the design so you can see the process steps if you’re interested. To begin, I painted my nails with three thin coats of Julep Dana (white). You could use a standard opaque white creme polish for this, but I had Dana on hand. I then painted the lower 40-50% of my nail with Catrina (yellow) using the polish brush itself. I didn’t worry too much about making a straight line between the white and yellow because I intended to apply the orange over that section anyhow. At this point, I applied a layer of quick-dry topcoat to prevent any damage to the polish as a result of the stencil application.

For this manicure, I decided to make my own chevron decals using sheets of sticky mailing labels, which I’ll refer to as “sticker paper”. I use this stuff a lot because it’s easy to find, and sufficiently sticky to adhere to nails (most of the time). My sticker paper is Avery 8163, if you’re curious. The other thing I needed was a pair of zig-zag craft scissors to cut the sticker paper. To make the chevron stencils, I used the zig zag scissors to cut a line down the sticker paper, which gave me a strip of the sticker paper with a zig zag edge. I used normal scissors to cut pieces off this strip that were approximately nail-sized, put them on my nails where I wanted them (see the photo below), and used a cuticle cutter to trim them to shape. I made sure my nails were 100% dry before putting on the stencils; if they’re not, the stencils could dent the polish, or remove it altogether.

Nail art stencil candy corn

The stencils aren’t fully pressed down, but you can get an idea of placement here.

After making sure that the chevron stencils were pressed down completely (this is VERY important), I applied Marjorie (orange) in between the two stencils, working one nail at a time. You want to make the stencils are pressed down on your nail so that polish cannot seep underneath them. I waited until I could start to see the outline of the stencils underneath the orange (about five seconds after I finished with the orange), and then carefully peeled off the stencils using tweezers. At the end, I got nice clean lines! Yay!

Julep Chevron Candy Corn Nail Art 3

I’m really happy with the way this turned out – it’s so adorable! I like the graphic pattern, and the simplicity of it. And, of course, the fact that it was easy to do. This definitely got me in the Halloween spirit! Three people complimented me on this manicure, actually, which is a lot compared to my usual number of compliments (0 or 1). Probably because it’s so vibrant and noticeable.

Julep Chevron Candy Corn Nail Art with candy

ALL THE CANDY!!! NOMNOMNOM!!!

Tutorial time! Here’s a picture of the supplies. The Julep decals are on the right, and the DIY supplies are on the left. You need one or the other.

Julep chevron candy corn materials

Julep Chevron Candy Corn Nail Art Tutorial

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and all the others in the Julep InstaGrim series! Good luck to all the entrants in the contest, and Happy Halloween! This is probably going to be my last post this month, so I’ll be back in November with some fabulous nail art – I’m thinking of a theme for the entire month, which should be interesting. Thanks for reading!

– Emi

Disclosure: products from Julep were provided in compensation for producing this work. Read the disclosure policy under the “Disclosure” page.

Leave a Reply

