OPI Nordic Collection Nail Art – Fall Foliage

Hi everyone! It’s autumn! Yay! I think this is the first time I’ve ever been excited about summer transitioning into fall; I have always associated autumn with the start of school, making me dislike the season as a consequence, but I think I’ve finally gotten rid of that feeling since I no longer have a summer break that I have to drag my feet from. Fall actually seems appealing now: brightly colored leaves, the upcoming gingerbread lattes, Halloween, Thanksgiving, apple season…fun stuff! Summer was pretty saturated with things to do, and, even though I had a blast, I think I’m ready to move on. Even though autumn is shaping up to be a pretty busy time of year for me work-wise, I think I’ll have enough delicious gingerbread lattes to savor while powering through (and enjoying myself along the way)!

So today I have some seasonal nail art to show my excitement for the beginning of fall! In my last post, I mentioned having a “Star Trek Manicure Party” with my sister, where I brought the entire OPI Nordic Fall/Winter 2014 collection along so that we could both paint our nails. My manicure used a whopping seven colors – mostly browns and pinks – to create a design of a tree with golden leaves and clusters of pink berries (like the tree in my family’s front yard). Check it out:

OPI Nordic Fall Foliage Nail Art
If you haven’t seen the OPI Nordic Collection, I’ll describe it for you: it’s made up of a lot of browns, a lot of purples, and a LOT of cremes (9 out of 12 polishes are cremes). There are some other colors and finishes thrown into the mix, but for the most part, that’s what’s there. When I was figuring out what to do, I thought to myself: hmm…I should use these browns because I usually don’t wear brown nail polish. I also wanted to do something floral or plant-like, so I synthesized the two ideas together and came up with the idea of tree branches. I then thought: oh, the gold polish would make some awesome leaves to put on the branches! So autumnal, right? And then I came up with the genius idea of sticking the berry clusters on the branches using the two pinks, which made me really want to run with the design. Adding one of the purples to the berry clusters gave the manicure just the right amount of contrast, and I absolutely LOVE the finished look!

OPI Nordic Fall Foliage Nail Art 2
The colors I used from the OPI Nordic collection to create this nail art were:

  • OPI Going My Way or Norway? (warm tan/caramel creme) – base color
  • OPI Ice-Bergers & Fries (warm milk chocolate creme) – primary tree branch color
  • OPI How Great Is Your Dane? (cool dark gray-brown creme) – secondary tree branch color
  • OPI OPI With a Nice Finn-ish (golden bronze shimmer) – leaves
  • OPI Thank Glogg It’s Friday! (medium magenta shimmer) – primary color for berry clusters
  • OPI Suzi Has a Swede Tooth (medium bubblegum pink creme) – berry clusters
  • OPI Skating on Thin Ice-Land (dark warm purple creme) – berry clusters

I don’t have a tutorial for this look because I was busy watching Star Trek and socializing with my sister at the time, but I can describe the method:

To begin, I applied two coats of Going My Way or Norway? The polish went on very smoothly and easily – the kind of perfection I expect from OPI nail polishes. I then applied Ice-Bergers & Fries using a striping brush to create the tree branches. This step was actually quite easy because tree branches don’t need to be perfectly straight or uniform. I wanted the branches to start near my cuticles and to all start on the same side of my nail, so there is at least some uniformity to the look. To enhance the branches, I put on How Great Is Your Dane? on top of the branches using an even smaller striping brush. I then used a small detail brush to paint the leaves in OPI With a Nice Finn-ish; the shimmer really adds to the look, putting in a good amount of shine without overwhelming the cremes. Then, I did the clusters beginning with Thank Glogg It’s Friday! and a small dotting tool. I added dimension to the clusters by putting on dots of Suzi Has a Swede Tooth and Skating on Thin Ice-Land. Both the lighter and darker colors make the berry clusters more interesting by adding bits of contrast. Lastly, I put a few more dots of Thank Glogg It’s Friday on top of the clusters, and I was done!

OPI Nordic Fall Foliage Nail Art 3

I really like this look! All the freehand work came out beautifully, and it wasn’t all that hard, to boot. Visually, I like how the elongated tree branches are combined with the small, scattered details of the leaves and berry clusters. Moreover, the balance of cremes and shimmers is really good for this design – eye-catching, but not distracting. And, of course, it looks like autumn foliage!

OPI Nordic Fall Foliage Nail Art 4

I hope you’ve enjoyed my nail art! I may be too busy the next week to post more nail art, so I hope you all can be patient with me and wait until I catch up with my life in order to do more blogging. But, rest assured, I will be back with more nail art! Thanks for reading 🙂

– Emi

One thought on “OPI Nordic Collection Nail Art – Fall Foliage

Leave a Reply

