My Favorite Things Series – Starbucks Passion Iced Tea Lemonade with Sally Hansen

Hi everyone! I’m adding a new entry to the My Favorite Things series today (a series inspired by my stuff), and this time my inspiration is readily available for purchase at your nearest Starbucks! For this entry, I was inspired by my current favorite Starbucks beverage: Passion iced tea lemonade (I’m going to refer to it as PTL from now on, since that’s what Starbucks does). I really love the fruity and refreshing iced tea/lemonade drinks Starbucks has been putting out for summer, and the Passion tea version is especially delicious. One morning, I got a big cup of it, and it just looked so beautiful (and tasty) I couldn’t help but want to honor its loveliness. So I turned it into nail art! I’m not trying to promote Starbucks here; this is purely a personal homage to my favorite drink.

Starbucks Passion Iced Tea Lemonade Nail Art

Starbucks Passion Iced Tea Lemonade Nail Art

One of the things I’ve been rather disappointed about the My Favorite Things series is that none of the stuff I’ve been posting about can be purchased anymore. Past features have included designs inspired by a minty starry scarf, rainbow dichroic glass earrings, and gray and red poppy bedding, none of which are very easy to find since I either found the items in an obscure location or they are no longer in season. It makes me a bit frustrated with myself when I go on and on about how much I like something and, if anyone who reads my blog wants the same thing, they can’t obtain it. This time, I’m happy to report that you can purchase your own glass of PTL quite easily, and for a cost that’s probably less than $5 (Starbucks prices vary per region so I can’t give an exact price). Read on to see how it compares to the real deal!

Starbucks Passion Nail Art Comparison 2

Starbucks PTL is such a beautiful beverage! It’s an intense shade of medium pink that’s a bit clouded by the lemonade, but is transparent enough to see the ice cubes reflecting lighter shades of pink through the liquid. It’s all topped by a layer of light pink foam from shaking the drink. And, of course, it’s very very delicious πŸ™‚ I tried to make my nails look like a cup of PTL using mostly Sally Hansen polishes, and it kind of sort of works (not really, since my nails will never look like a transparent liquid). Anyways, the polishes used are:

  • Sally Hansen CSM Tickled Pink (bright medium pink creme)
  • Sally Hansen XTreme Wear Coral Reef (pinky coral creme)
  • Sally Hansen Triple Shine Jell-ous? (magenta jelly)
  • Wet n Wild Wild Shine Tickle Pink (light pink creme)
  • Sally Hansen Color Frenzy Candy Drops (light pink hex and bar glitters plus silver holo glitter in a clear base)

I started by painting my nails with 2 coats of Tickled Pink, which has an excellent formula with good opacity. I used a striping brush to paint the ice cubes with Coral Reef (also excellent), broadening the lines in some places to make them look like they aren’t perfectly cut cubes. I then brushed 2 coats of Jell-ous? over everything to make the cubes less bright and also to maybe enhance the liquid look (I don’t think that really happened). After putting on another few ice cubes, I took a makeup sponge and used it to apply Tickle Pink along my nail tips. Finally I did some glitter placement on top of the light pink with Candy Drops to add some sparkles.

Starbucks Passion Nail Art 2

IMAG5535-2Starbucks Passion Nail Art 3

Well, it came out OK, but I think trying to replicate iced tea on my nails wasn’t the best idea. It doesn’t look that much like the real thing since my nails aren’t going to ever resemble a transparent liquid, and I’m not a genius at making ice cubes look like ice cubes. At least the foam looks nice…? I think the glitter looks cute on top of the light pink. Oh well, I can check it off my list and get some more REAL PTL now that I’m finished.

Starbucks Passion Nail Art Comparison

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my post! Stay tuned for the end of the My Favorite Things series and other upcoming exciting things!

– Emi

Leave a Reply

