Rainbow Honey Sea Star and 488nm (August Mystery Bag)

Hi everyone! I’m excited to show off some indie nail polish by Rainbow Honey today, including a brand-new polish from the August mystery bag! This is my first post with indie polish, actually. I’m sure that I’ll have many more to come 🙂

I’ve had my eyes on Rainbow Honey for quite some time, and I finally sprang for some polish earlier this month. My order arrived yesterday, and I was so excited about it that I had to do some nail art! This simple design features Sea Star (the June 2014 LE) on top of a new Rainbow Honey polish from this month’s mystery bag: 488nm. I really like how fun and cute the two polishes look together. Definitely the aquatic look I was going for.

Rainbow Honey Sea Star and 488nm

Rainbow Honey Sea Star and 488nm

From the second I saw Sea Star, I knew I wanted to own a bottle. What can I say…love at first sight? I don’t know why I find it so compelling, since I usually am not into glitter bombs. I guess I’m drawn to its color combination of aqua, coral, and yellow, and the fact that it’s adorable without being too precious for me. The problem was finding a polish worthy of putting underneath it. Luckily, my search was over when I opened the August mystery bag and fished out 488nm (swatches are below).

I MAJORLY geeked out when I saw that the blue polish in the mystery bag was named 488nm. Both my boyfriend and I are scientists, and we previously joked about how incredulous it is that so many polishes exist when there’s probably a finite number of colors that humans can distinguish from the visible frequencies of the electromagnetic spectrum. You can imagine how hilarious I thought it was (in the best possible way) that Rainbow Honey had actually named a nail polish after the wavelength it looks like! My reaction was something like: ZOMG YAY SCIENCE + NAIL POLISH = AWESOME!!! I think it would be amazing to have an entire collection from Rainbow Honey full of science-themed polishes!

Rainbow Honey 488nm

488nm is a “solid azure blue creme”, as described on the brochure in the bag, and I’d say that’s accurate. The color is a light-to-medium green-tinged blue, like the wavelength this polish is named after, and I think you could reasonably consider it cerulean. I don’t think it’s green enough to be called turquoise. While I have no exact dupes for it, I’m sure one could be found. As for the formula, 488nm applies quite smoothly, and is opaque in two coats. Overall, it’s a nice polish and I’m looking forward to the full size in 2015!

EDIT: I was very pleased to find that my nails weren’t stained when I removed 488nm. A+!

Rainbow Honey 488nm 2

Rainbow Honey 488nm 3

After two coats of 488nm, I painted on Sea Star in an arc near my cuticles using a thin brush to control the application. Sea Star is everything I hoped it would be! It has different sizes of light aqua matte circle and hex glitters, some small bright yellow hexes, small iridescent hexes and squares, and of course some mini coral stars thrown into the mix – all in a blue shimmer base. I am so glad I got it while it’s available. I wanted to concentrate the glitter near the cuticles because I didn’t want to be overwhelmed by it, and also I still wanted to see some of the beautiful base color. Plus I think it makes it more aquatic-looking. For an accent nail, I added a bit more near the opposing tip. I wanted a nice transition from the glitter to the base color, so I carefully brushed some of Sea Star’s shimmery base over a short distance from the glitter.

Rainbow Honey Sea Star 488nm 2

Rainbow Honey Sea Star 488nm 3

I am really fond of both 488nm and Sea Star, and I highly recommend both polishes. If you’re interested in Rainbow Honey polishes, you can find them on the Rainbow Honey website (use code MIXTAPE20 to get 20% off your order):

http://www.rainbowhoney.com/

Thanks for reading!

– Emi

Leave a Reply

