Orange and Cream Vertical Stripes

Hi everyone! I have some pretty basic nail art today: vertical stripes in different shades of orange on a cream-colored background. This idea has been sitting on my nail art to-do list for quite some time, so I’m glad I finally got around to it. It’s pretty fun and summery, and the brightness of the orange makes me happy 🙂

Orange Stripes

Orange Stripes 2

To do this manicure, I started by painting three coats of OPI My Vampire is Buff (the cream color) on all nails. I do wish it was more opaque, but at least it went on smoothly and cleanly with no bubbles – gotta love OPI! I then used a striper brush to paint on all of the stripes. I did appreciate the opportunity to practice with my striper brush, since I’m actually quite afraid of painting straight lines on my nails. The stripe colors were:

  • Revlon Colorstay Longwear Marmalade (red-orange creme) – this color has been discontinued 😦
  • Zoya Arizona (yellow-orange creme)
  • American Apparel Neon Coral (neon orange creme) – it’s not showing up as neon in the photos, so you’ll have to believe me that it is neon
  • Julep Marjorie (medium orange shimmer)
  • Julep Saaya (pale yellow-orange shimmer)

I was originally planning to do this with all cremes, but I included the shimmers in there for a bit of extra glow. Since they aren’t strongly shimmery, I think it works. I’m still not sure if the neon enhances the look or not, though, because it is really strong in real life. Oh well.

Orange Stripes 3

Now for some news: I will start putting up my nail art on Pinterest in the next few days. A few posts ago, I talked about how I was ambiguous about the idea, but now I have decided to move forward with it after I investigated a strange phenomenon in my blog’s statistics. For the past few weeks, I’ve been noticing a trend in my page views: one manicure has been getting waaaaaaayyy more views than any of the others (funny enough, this was one of my least favorites because it was so uncomfortable). At first, I chalked it up to the fact that it used a new Julep color, and some viewers wanted to see what the color looked like; a good number of the views probably come from that. However, yesterday I realized that this manicure had inadvertently made its way to Pinterest, and that a lot of the views were directed to my blog from there. Fortunately, the person who pinned it credited my blog, but what if they hadn’t? That would be very distressing. So I’ve decided that I might as well be the one to put my own stuff on Pinterest, complete with watermarks of “emismanis”, so that I am the one pinning my stuff and hopefully other people won’t do it for me.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my post. Thanks for reading!

– Emi

Leave a Reply

