Revlon Spider-Man Picks and Water Marble

Hi everyone! First of all, thank you to everyone who voted for my nail art from last week in the Sally Hansen contest. Each vote makes me so happy πŸ™‚

Today I have some swatches of two of the Revlon Spider-Man 2 collection that came out a few months ago. I’m not entirely sure how Spider-Man relates to nail polish (or the US Postal Service, for that matter), but the Revlon collection is beautiful anyways. I am very glad I picked these up because they seem to have a “glow” to them that is quite unusual and very eye-catching. Even though they don’t produce a duochrome effect on the nail, as they appear to in the bottle, the glow makes up for it entirely.

IMAG3611-2

Purchasing these polishes ended up paying me back, in a way. When I bought these at Walgreens, I received a raffle code from Revlon to enter some sweepstakes relating to Spider-Man. I entered the raffle, and a few weeks ago, I got an email saying I had won two $10 movie tickets to Spider-Man 2. Hooray! My sister also had a few free movie tickets from something else, so this weekend I saw the movie in 3D with my boyfriend, sister, and brother for a grand total of $2.50 per person. Sweet πŸ™‚

The first polish I picked was I’m Electro, which is an electric blue shimmer that’s a bit grayed out. It’s very shiny and reflective, and extremely beautiful. I didn’t have any issues applying it, and it covered fully in 3 coats. I didn’t see any duochrome tendency to it, though, even over black. Oh well, it’s still great. The first two pics show the polish by itself, and the second two show it over black. To my eye, there isn’t much of a difference.

IMAG3546

 

IMAG3549

 

IMAG3560

 

IMAG3572

The second polish I picked up was Spidey Sense, which is a pinky bright red microglitter/fleck polish. I picked up this one over some of the others because I love wearing red nail polish, even though it seems to be the weakest duochrome of the collection. Though the polish applied nicely in two coats, it dried with lots of bubbles underneath. This bubbling happened to me before when I tried out this polish, so it might be that my bottle has an issue. I tried reapplying it several times to prevent it from bubbling, but I eventually gave up. The bubbling is a lot more noticeable in the photos than in real life. I didn’t end up taking pictures of it on its own, so here it is with an accent nail:

IMAG3618-2

 

IMAG3616-2

I added the water marble accent nail to make it more like Spider-Man, which came to mind when I saw the “witch” design by The Nail Art Kit here. This is actually the first water marble I tried, and I’m quite happy with the result. For the marble, I used Spidey Sense, Sally Hansen Blue My Mind and American Apparel Hassid. It took me a bunch of tries to get right since I’m a newbie at this, but was worth it! Here’s a close up:

IMAG3622-3
Thanks for reading!

– Emi

3 thoughts on “Revlon Spider-Man Picks and Water Marble

  1. The Nail Art Kit says:

    You are right, these polishes have a special glow! Your nail art is awesome and immediately brings to mind Spider Man even before reading the title. I’m happy that you’ve found this pattern useful! Your water marble is totally successful, it’s hard to believe that this is your first try! Well done!

    Like

    • emismanis says:

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you like it. Haha it was more like my 20th try to get the pattern to come out right on the water surface…not my first try there πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

